Skip to content

Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn - Isle of Anglesey County Council

Where are the conservation areas?

Conservation areas are “areas of special architectural or historic interest, the character or appearance of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance”.

It is required by law for local authorities to designate conservation areas and to devise policies for their preservation and enhancement.

Character and appearance are the two most important factors to consider when designating a conservation area. The Isle of Anglesey has a wide range of historic buildings and striking natural landscape. Therefore, it is important that these areas are protected to ensure that their unique character and appearance are preserved and not altered by unsuitable development.

Where are the conservation areas?

There are 12 conservation areas on Anglesey:

  • Aberffraw
  • Amlwch
  • Amlwch Port
  • Beaumaris
  • Bodedern
  • Cemaes
  • Holyhead Central
  • Holyhead Mountain
  • Holyhead/Newry Beach
  • Llanfechell
  • Llangefni
  • Menai Bridge

Each area that is suitable for conservation area designation is unique in Anglesey with buildings of historic importance, public open spaces and landscape features. However, there are important factors that should be incorporated into all conservation areas. These are:

  • individual buildings or groups of buildings
  • buildings and their surroundings
  • architecture
  • materials
  • views
  • landscape
  • street furniture
  • the environment
  • the historic development of an area

Information and advice on conservation areas is available at the Built Environment and Landscape Section of the Planning Service. A conservation officer is able to provide advice on general planning matters and specific advice on the designated areas on Anglesey.