Skip to content

Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn - Isle of Anglesey County Council

Council Chairperson 2023 to 2024

Margaret Murley Roberts
The Isle of Anglesey County Council has chosen Councillor Margaret Murley Roberts as its new Chair for 2023 to 2024.

Councillor Glyn Haynes, who represents the Parc a’r Mynydd Ward, was elected as Vice-Chairman for 2023 to 2024.

More information about Councillor Margaret Roberts being elected as a Council Chairperson can be found in our Newsroom.


Chair's announcements

Firstly, I would like to congratulate everyone who competed in the Anglesey Young Farmers’ Eisteddfod last weekend at Mona Showground. I understand it was very successful and entertaining.

Congratulations to the Rapper Ren Gill who has overcome a long period of illness to top the UK charts with his second album. Ren is originally from Dwyran and is a former pupil of Ysgol David Hughes.

Good luck to Ioan Rhun Jones from Llanfairpwll who will be climbing part of Everest in March in memory of his father and to raise money for the charity ‘Shout’. We wish Ioan all the best.

Congratulations to the Anglesey Fostering Team on winning an award in recognition of their excellent contribution to foster care. The support given by the team to the Island’s foster carers was praised along with the close relationship with the Anglesey Foster Care Association.

Congratulations to the broadcaster Hywel Gwynfryn on receiving a Special Contribution Award at BAFTA Cymru Wales awards recently for his contribution to broadcasting. Originally from Llangefni, he has been a very proud ambassador for Anglesey throughout his career.

Congratulations to George North for creating history by becoming the first Welshman to appear in the Rugby World Cup quarter finals on four separate occasions.

Congratulations to Amlwch Town Football Club on winning the Wales Over 50’s Walking Football championships; and good luck to the Anglesey netball team who will be competing against other island teams in the Isle of Man next month.

Good luck also to all individuals and teams nominated for an award in the Môn Active awards ceremony for 2023. The ceremony takes place tonight at Beaumaris Leisure Centre.

Thank you to Haydn Edwards for his work as Chair of the Anglesey Welsh Language Forum over a period of six year. Under his leadership the Forum developed to be the voice of authority on Welsh Language matters on the Island and over 30 organisations are now involved in the work.

I would also like to thank the Reverand Dr Dafydd Wyn Williams for his tireless work as the Minister at Noddfa Chapel in Holyhead over a period of 30 years and for his work as a local historian which has seen him publish over 40 books and numerous articles.

Finally, increasing conflict has been witnessed in the Middle East over the past few days. We have seen and heard news reports of how critical the situation is and our thoughts are with the children and ordinary people who are suffering as a result of the fighting.

On another sad note, I wish to express our sympathies to the family of Reverand Emlyn Richards who passed away in August. He had served as a minister in the Cemaes area since 1964 and published numerous books on the history of Anglesey. I also wish to extend our sympathies to Cllr. Robert Llewelyn Jones, following the death of his sister in law.

As a Council we also send our condolences to any member of staff who has recently suffered a bereavement. I therefore ask those present in the Chamber, and who are able to do so, to stand for a minute’s silence as a mark of respect.

Meeting of Isle of Anglesey County Council - Hybrid Meeting - Council Chamber, Council Offices, Llangefni & virtually via ZOOM, Isle of Anglesey County Council, Tuesday, 12th September, 2023 2.00 pm (Item 3.)


The Chair made the following announcements:-

  • Congratulations extended to all the Young Farmers Members of Anglesey who competed at the Royal Welsh Show in Builth Wells.
  • Congratulations was also extended to those who exhibited their stock and produce at the Royal Welsh Show and to Mr Richard Roberts from Emyr Evans Agricultural machinery company for receiving a prize for long service to the company.
  • Congratulations extended to everyone from the Island who took part in the National Eisteddfod at Pen Llyn in August and especially to Côr Ieuenctid Môn Youth Choir, led by Mrs Mari Pritchard, who won 3 of the Eisteddfod’s Choir competitions.
  • Congratulations extended to those with links to Anglesey who were honoured to the ‘Gorsedd y Beirdd’ (Bards) this year.
  • Congratulations extended to Ms Alison Cairns from Llannerch-y-medd who won the Welsh Learner of the Year at the Eisteddfod.
  • The Chair referred to the successful Anglesey Show held yet again this year. She thanked the organisers of the Agricultural Society and everyone who supported the show. The Chair also thanked everyone who were part of the arrangements of the County Council’s pavilion at the Show.
  • The Chair referred that Anglesey has recently been accepted as an official member of the Worldwide Age Friendly Community Network of the World Health Organisation. As a new member of the network, the Island is part of a world-wide movement which tries to create communities where everyone can look forward to ageing well in them. She wished to thank the Welsh Government and the Wales’ Older People’s Commissioner Team for the support during the journey; Anglesey Older People’s Forum; Councillor Gwilym Jones the Council’s Age Friendly Champion and the Council Staff and Partners for their hard work.
  • Congratulations extended to the Anglesey Fostering Team who have won two awards from the British Fostering Network. Two of Authority’s foster carers won the Kinship Carers prize whiles the Fostering Team won the prize for the Social Workers Team.
  • Congratulations extended to Mrs Mary Davies, from Brynsiecyn who has been awarded the MBE for her services as a ‘call-taker’ with British Telecom and the Emergency Services (999).
  • Congratulations extended to the Archives Services staff, under the leadership of Ms Kelly Parry, on their recent success. The team have worked extremely hard for a recent assessment and have ensured that they keep their status as Accredited Archives.
  • Congratulations extended to all the young people who have been successful in their examinations this year. The Chair wished to thank the teachers and staff in the schools for supporting the young people on their educational journey.

Events attended